Northern Radio Awards launched in Wa

  • 26

Event organisers, Flawless Creations has successfully launched its Upper West Chapter of the awards scheme.

This event happened on Friday 26th October, at the friendly environments of the BN Royal Lodge in Wa. It was attended by various industry players of the media fraternity.

The scheme which is strictly directed at recognising the impact of radio journalism in the Northern sector of the country is said to be the first ever radio awards institution in the country.

Naa Kwarley, the Lead Organiser of the scheme explained that the need to reward and appreciate radio players was of great importance in shaping the radio industry. Miss Naa explained that radio was the biggest medium of communication in recent history and has always been relevant and must be encouraged for best practices.

At the launched which hosted managers, editors and reporters as well as presenters from the various media outlets was well participated and very interactive.

Participants took turns to enquire more about the awards due to the influx of awards schemes in the media industry.

Mr. Seidu Bhomanjo, the Administer of GBC Radio Upper West who chaired the launch call on practitioners to be more professional in the discharge of duty, and called on radio practitioners to work within the ethics of the industry.

Mahama Latif of Citi FM, James Kuunsaana Donkor a media mogul and the manager of Puopile Radio were also present to at the launch including Radio Progress, Radio MAK, Radio Waa, W FM, Radford FM, Radio Upper West and other media outlets.

The awards which seek to be judged by industry players and standards of radio broadcast have also allowed the public to make an input to the general outcome. With a 60 per cent from the judging board which would be constituted by the radio experts and a 40% public vote.

The nominations of awardees are done by the radio stations and screened by industry experts to arrive at a final list to compete for the overall.

Some categories at the awards include Best Station Technician and Best Producer of the station, among other well structure rewards.


Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.